Purchase this book from amazon.co.uk

Walter R. Brooks (1886–1958) was a staff writer for several magazines, including the New Yorker. His short stories were published in The Saturday Evening Post, Atlantic Monthly and Esquire. His story 'Ed Takes the Pledge’ was the basis for the 1950s TV series ?Mr Ed’, but his most lasting achievement was the Freddy the Pig series.

Freddy the Detective

Walter R Brooks
Illustrated by Kurt Wiese

... that charming, ingenious pigThe New York Times

From 1927 to 1958, Walter R. Brooks wrote 26 books starring one of the great characters in American children’s literature: Freddy the Pig. The Freddy books, widely beloved as classics and deemed the American equivalent of the Pooh stories, are a remarkable achievement in children’s literature. Freddy is 'Everypig’ — he oversleeps, overeats, daydreams, and writes poetry. He’s even a little bit lazy. And when he’s scared, his tail uncurls. He is by turns a cowboy, explorer, publisher, poet, magician, banker, pilot, detective. Whatever the situation may call for, Freddy always rises to the occasion!

In Freddy the Detective, Freddy, inspired by reading about Sherlock Holmes, sets up in business as a detective and solves a series of very mysterious cases, beginning with the disappearance of the children’s toy train. All the animals become involved, there is a frame-up, and the climax is the great trial scene in the barn, where Freddy and Ferdinand the Crow are the opposing lawyers, and Charles the Rooster, the judge.